The Oval Neon Open Sign

A new craze has swept the retail community.  It’s the oval neon open sign  and it looks like this:

Even in my quaint neighborhood of Noe Valley in San Francisco, we are inundated with this ubiquitous symbol of openness.  When I see this sign the following thoughts go through my head in this order:

  1. Shock  – Wow, another one of these signs (?!)
  2. Enlightenment – This business is probably low quality / unoriginal / not trying hard.
  3. Confusion – Why would the proprietor want to convey these connotations?
  4. Trivia – I guess this establishment is open / closed.

In just a few blocks along 24th street in Noe Valley I counted six of these eyesores.  It is a perfect example of horrible design and poor marketing.  A hand painted open sign is friendlier, unique, conveys personality, and is only a fraction of the cost.  Here is my favorite sign on 24th Street for a shop called ladybug ladybug:

img_0119

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “The Oval Neon Open Sign”

  1. Jeremy Brooks Says:

    Ah yes, the boring, available at Costcomar, neon open sign. I can’t stand ’em either. I have an obsession with shooting neon, and these are just way too boring. I much prefer the custom neon Open signs that reflect the business:
    Mona Open
    Open Red Clover
    Open Paintbrush
    Open For Tophats
    Buffet Open All You Can Eat

  2. NEON Says:

    LOL to the shut sign !!! Neon open signs are boring but effective.For a lower budget business theses will work fine till they can customize a neon sign!!!!

Comments are closed.


